فالخصخصة تعني نقل ملكية أو إدارة مشروع / صناعة من الحكومة إلى القطاع الخاص لزيادة المنافسة بين الشركات التي بدورها ستجلب تدفق رؤوس الأموال إلى السوق، من خلال توليد استثمارات أجنبية وفرص عمل إضافية. وفي الكويت، تحدث تغيرات هامة في السيناريو الاقتصادي والسياسي مما يشير إلى التحول إلى استراتيجية تهدف، بدلا من محاولة حماية الاقتصاد من بقية العالم، إلى الاستفادة من الفرص التي تتيحها المشاركة في التجارة الدولية .

غير أنه إذا أريد للخصخصة أن تعود بالنفع على البلد، ينبغي للقوانين أن توضح الضمانات والحوافز للاستثمار في البلد؛ ينبغي أن يحدد إطار العمل الهيكلي وأن يبسط إجراءات إنشاء مشاريع جديدة. ومن الضروري وضع إطار تشريعي وتنظيمي شامل يدعم عملية الخصخصة من خلال تعديل القوانين القائمة وإصدار قوانين جديدة. وتعد القوانين السليمة لتداول الأسهم والضرائب ضرورية لتشجيع هذه الأنواع من الاستثمارات. وينبغي تنقيح القوانين لخلق سوق حرة تكفل المساواة واللعب النزيه؛ ومكافحة الاحتكار واكتناز. وتعتبر القوانين التي تحكم الخصخصة أمرا حيويا لتنمية البلد ومعيشته، لأن الخصخصة تتعامل مع ممتلكات الحكومة.

استراتيجية الخصخصة في الكويت

ومن بين المبادرات المهمة للخصخصة، قامت الحكومة بتجديد القوانين التجارية، وهناك سلطة مراقبة مناسبة لهذا الغرض، وهي هيئة الاستثمار الكويتية (كيا)، تهتم بالاعبين في السوق. وفي عام 1992، نفذت الوكالة برنامج خصخصة من ثلاث مراحل يهدف إلى إعادة بناء الاقتصاد والتقليل إلى أدنى حد من الاعتماد على دخل النفط.

دور الهيئة التشريعية

إن اختيار أنسب طريقة للخصخصة لكل مشروع بالنسبة لظروف التشغيل ومتطلبات القطاع المعني هو الدور الرئيسي للسلطة التشريعية. قد تكون هناك مخططات سليمة من الحكومة لجذب المستثمرين المحليين والأجانب على السواء. والمحافظة على حقوق جميع الأطراف، أي المستثمر، والحكومة، والمستهلك، والطبقة العاملة هي مسؤولية الهيئة التشريعية. يجب على الهيئة التشريعية أن تهتم بالمستثمر الذي هو اللاعب النشط في الصفقة لأنه بدونه لن يكون هناك أي مشروع جديد. وينبغي أن تكون القوانين الجديدة والقائمة مفيدة في الحفاظ على حماس المستثمر حتى أنه سيواصل القيام بأعمال تجارية مماثلة. وإلى حد ما، ينبغي أيضا الحد من التدخل الحكومي أو التقليل منه حتى لا يصبح التدخل مستبدا. وعلاوة على ذلك، ينبغي أن تبسط القوانين عملية إنشاء وتسجيل الشركات. وعلى الرغم من إرساء الأساس لمشاريع مماثلة، وسن تشريعات لترخيص الاستثمارات الخاصة في قطاع الاتصالات السلكية واللاسلكية والكهرباء، ينبغي الحفاظ على الشفافية والنزاهة وفقا للمعايير الدولية. ولا ينبغي تجاهل الزبائن وينبغي حماية مصالح العمال أو الطبقة العاملة. وينبغي تجنب أي قانون يدين حقوق المستهلكين أو أن يواجه البلد مشاكل الاحتكار ومعايير الجودة المعاكسة.

طرق الخصخصة

وهناك قانونان مختلفان ولكن فعالان للخصخصة؛ طريقة واحدة هي إصدار قانون واحد يشمل جميع تدابير الخصخصة والطريقة الثانية هي صياغة قوانين مختلفة لمشاريع مختلفة؛ وبغية التحريض على عملية الخصخصة وتعزيز قدرات الحكومة على تنفيذ برنامج الخصخصة بنجاح، قامت الكويت بتكييف إطار مؤسسي وآلياتها.

بيع أسهم الحكومة.

بيع أسهم حكومية من خالل سوق الكويت لألوراق المالية في سوق الشركات المساهمة أو بطريقة أخرى تضمن أكبر قدر ممكن من اإليرادات للحكومة.

المناقصة العامة:

ومن بين العطاءات، سيتم اختيار أنسب العطاءات فيما يتعلق بالمعايير المحددة لهذا الغرض. يتم تشكيل لجان المناقصات الخاصة إذا لزم الأمر بناء على طبيعة المشروع. وينص القانون رقم 37 لسنة 1964 (المعدل بموجب القانونين رقم 13 و 31 لسنة 1970 و 1977 على التوالي) بشأن المناقصات العامة (“قانون المناقصات”) على أن أي شراء تقوم به حكومة الكويت بقيمة تزيد على 5000 دينار كويتي ، من خلال إجراءات لجنة المناقصات المركزية من أجل ضمان التسعير التنافسي.

عقود الإدارة:

وتنظم شروط العقد العلاقة بين الطرفين، وستتاح الفرصة للاقتراح فقط للشركات التي تتقن في مجال معين من مجالات الأعمال. وفي ظل هذا الوضع، سيتولى القطاع الخاص إدارة المرافق العامة لفترة محددة من الزمن. وعادة ما يكون ذلك لفترة قصيرة قد تكون أو لا تكون قابلة للتجديد.

ترتيب الإيجار:

وفي هذا النوع من الترتيبات، ستستأجر الحكومة المرافق العامة للقطاع الخاص لفترة معينة من الزمن بسعر يتفق عليه الطرفان. ويقوم المستثمرون من القطاع الخاص بإدارة المشروع بكامله دون تدخل حكومي، وسيتم دفع الإيجار للحكومة وفقا للشروط المتفق عليها في عقد الإيجار. وهذا ينطبق عموما على المشاريع التي كانت مملوكة في البداية من قبل الحكومة، وبالتالي هناك بعض القواعد المحددة التي يتعين الامتثال لها.

التعاون مع الحكومة:

وقد تتعاون الحكومة مع بعض اللاعبين البارزين في السوق لتوليد المزيد من العائدات، وبصفة عامة فإن مخصصات الدخل ستستند إلى المساهمة الرأسمالية لكل طرف. وفي حالات نادرة، يجوز للحكومة أن تبيع جزءا من ممتلكاتها أو جميعها إلى مستثمر وأن تأذن له باستخدامها. ومع ذلك، يجب أن تكون الحكومة مقتنعة بنوايا ومصالح اللاعبين.

على الرغم من أن المرء لا يستطيع أن ينكر حقيقة أن هناك نشاطا اقتصاديا محددا يحتاج إلى مهارة خاصة ودراية فنية لا يمكن دائما العثور عليها في القطاع العام، هناك أيضا تهديد بأن القطاع الخاص سيكون أكثر اهتماما بالربح من الرفاه من المجتمع. وعلى الحكومة أن تسعى في الوقت الذي تسعى فيه إلى تحقيق المزيد من المكاسب المالية من خلال التنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية إلى عدم التضحية برفاه شعبها، وينبغي أن يكون هناك دائما إطار مؤسسي للخصخصة.

وعلى وجه الدقة، فإن الخصخصة في الكويت تنطوي على تخفيض حصة الحكومة في بعض شركات القطاع العام القائمة، أو خلق فرص جديدة للقطاع الخاص للاستثمار في الصناعات الاستراتيجية التي كان يدعمها في السابق التمويل الحكومي. والهدف من ذلك ليس الخصخصة التي تخرج من تدخل الحكومة أو دورها في النشاط الاقتصادي، بل بالتنسيق مع القطاع الخاص الذي يكون أكثر قدرة على إدارة المشروع الذي يؤدي في نهاية المطاف إلى تنشيط السوق وتوليد المزيد من فرص العمل.

Privatization means the transfer of ownership or management of a project/industry from the government to the private sector for increasing competition among companies which in turn would brings forth capital flow to the market, by generating additional foreign investments and job opportunities. In Kuwait, significant changes are happening in the economic and political scenario which would indicate a shift to a strategy that, as opposed to trying to protect economy from the rest of the world, aims to take advantage of opportunities offered by participating in the international trade.

However, if the privatization is to be beneficial for the country the laws should elucidate the guarantees and incentives for investment in the country; should define the structural frame work and shall simplify the procedures for establishing new projects. A comprehensive legislative and organizational framework supporting the privatization process through the amendment of existing laws and promulgation of new laws would be necessary. Proper laws for stock trading and taxation are essential for encouraging these kinds of investments. The laws should be revised to create a free market guaranteeing equality and fair play; counteracting monopoly and hoarding. The laws governing privatization is vital for the development and sustenance of the country because privatization deals with the government property.

Privatization strategy of Kuwait

Among important initiatives for privatization, the government has revamped the commercial laws and there is a proper controlling authority for this purpose, the Kuwait Investment Authority (KIA), takes care of the players in the market. In 1992, the KIA implemented a three-phase privatization program that aims to reconstruct the economy and minimize the dependence on oil income.

The legislature’s role

Choosing the most appropriate mode of privatization for each project relative to the operating conditions and requirements of the concerned sector is the major role of the legislature. There may be proper schemes from the government to attract both local and foreign investors. Preservation of the rights of all parties i.e., the investor, the government, the consumer and the working class is the responsibility of the legislature. The legislature should take care of the investor who is the active player in the deal because without him there would not be any new venture. New and existing laws should be helpful in maintaining the investor’s enthusiasm so that he will continue doing similar business. To a certain extent the government interference should also be curtailed or minimized so that the interference will not turn out to be tyrannical. Moreover, the laws should simplify the process of establishing and registering companies. While laying the groundwork for similar projects, enacting legislation to license private investments in the telecommunications and electricity sector, transparency and integrity should be kept in pace with the international standards. The customers should not be ignored and the interests of the laborers or the working class should be protected. Any law which denounces the rights of the consumers should be avoided or else the country would face the problems of monopoly and adverse quality standards.

Methods of Privatization

There are two different but effective laws for privatization; one method is to issue a single code encompassing all privatization measures and the second method is to draft different laws for different projects; In order to instigate the privatization process and to strengthen the capabilities of the government to successfully execute the privatization program, an institutional framework and its mechanisms have been formulated by Kuwait adapting the following methods;

Sale of Government Shares.

Sale of government shareholding through Kuwait securities Market in cases of joint stock companies or in such other manner that ensures the maximum possible revenue to the government.

General tendering:

Among the tenders submitted the most suitable bid would be selected in relation to standards specified for this purpose. Special tender committees are formed if required based on the nature of the project. Law No. 37 of 1964 (modified by Law Nos. 13 and 31 of 1970 and 1977, respectively) concerning Public Tenders (the “Tenders Law”) provides that any procurement made by the Kuwait Government, with a value in excess of KD 5,000, must be conducted through the Central Tenders Committee procedures in order to ensure competitive pricing.

Management Contracts:

The terms of the contract shall govern the relationship between the parties and only those companies proficient in a particular area of business would be given a chance to propose. Under this mode the public facilities would be managed by the private sector for specific period of time. Normally, this will be for a short term which may or may not be renewable.

Lease arrangement:

In this kind of arrangement, the government would lease public facilities to the private sector for a certain period of time for a price agreed amongst the parties. The private investors would run the whole project by themselves without any governmental interference and the rent would be paid to the government per the terms agreed in the lease deed. This is generally applicable for projects which were initially owned by the government and hence there are certain specific rules which are to be complied with.

Cooperation with the government:

The government may cooperate with certain prominent players in the market to generate more revenue and generally the income allotment would be based on capital contribution of each party. In rare cases, the government may sell part or all of its property to an investor and authorize him to use it. However, the government should be convinced of the intentions and interests of the players.

Though one cannot deny the fact that there are certain economic activity which needs special skill and technical know-how which cannot always be found in the public sector there is also the threat that the private sector would be more interested in the profit than the well being of the society. The government while seeking more financial gains through economic and social development should not sacrifice the well being of its people and an institutional framework for privatization should always be in place.

To be precise, privatization in Kuwait involves both the reduction of the government’s stake in some existing public sector companies, or creating new opportunities for the private sector to invest in strategic industries previously supported by government funding. The aim is not privatization which strikes out government intervention or its role in the economic activity but to coordinate with the private sector which is more capable to run the project which at the end make the market active and generate more job opportunities.