وبموجب القانون الكويتي، فإن عدم سداد الديون ليس جريمة، وبالتالي لا يوجد أي نوع من العقوبة المقررة بموجب القانون الكويتي. غير أن هذا لا يعني أن المدين سيتحرر من جميع التزاماته تجاه الدائن. وإذا اختار الدائن متابعة المسألة، يمكنه أن يلتمس مساعدة قضائية إضافية ويمكنه أن يحبس المدين لمدة لا تتجاوز ستة أشهر. ولكن كيف يفسر الشخص الإجراء ويطبقه على وضعه الخاص سيعطيه قيمة لأن المحكمة ليس لديها أي دور نسبيا في هذه المسألة.

الإجراء

ويتعين على الدائن أن يقدم طلبا خطييا إلى إدارة الخبراء وإذا قرر رئيس إدارة الخبراء منح النداء بالحبس على المدين. والحد الأقصى لمدة السجن ستة أشهر. ومع ذلك، يحدد هذا المصطلح بناء على تقدير الضابط، وعادة لا تمنح فترة السجن لمدة شهر واحد. وإذا لم يدفع الدين بالكامل خلال هذه المدة الأولية، يمكن أن يسجن المدين عدة مرات حتى انقضاء فترة الستة أشهر؛ ما لم يثبت أنه غير قادر ماليا على سداد الدين. ومن ناحية أخرى، وبغض النظر عن انتهاء مدة ولايته (6 أشهر) في السجن، سيطلب من المدين تسديد الدين دون أي اقتطاع لأنه يحكم عليه بالسجن نتيجة تدبير أقل عقابية وأكثر مراعاة للإجراءات القانونية .

النقص في النظام

تتطلب الممارسة التنظيمية الجيدة تدخل المحكمة حيث تدور الإجراءات حول قواعد رسمية ولكن دقيقة. فالالتزام الطوعي، الذي يقل عن القواعد، ويشدد على الاستجابة والتسامح، ويفضل الأدوات التي تنطوي على التنظيم الذاتي والإقناع والتفاوض قد لا يكون دائما فعالا في مسألة مثل تحصيل الديون.

غير أنه بموجب النظام الحالي تقيد حقوق المدين والدائن بقيود معينة، يرد ذكرها فيما يلي؛

  • ويحظر الحكم الذي يستند إلى قاعدة العدالة الطبيعية السجن إذا لم يكن المدين في وضع يسمح له بسداد ديونه. ويقع عبء الإثبات على الدائن الذي ينبغي له أن يثبت أن المدين سليم ماليا أو أنه يتجاهل عمدا السداد. وفي الممارسة الفعلية، يستخدم السجن نوعا ما كاختبار لتأكيد ما إذا كان المدين سليم ماليا أم لا.
  • وينبغي أن يمنح المدين نظاما غير متجدد يمكنه أن ينفذ فيه حقوقه أيضا. وينبغي أن يعطى للمدين الحق في الاستماع إليه والحق في عرض آرائه بالكامل وكاملا أمام قاض مختص. فعلى سبيل المثال، إذا كان عدم الدفع ناجما عن مصادرة أصول المدين أو أمواله أو حجبها لفترة معينة من الزمن، ينبغي منحه فرصة لسدادها في تاريخ موسع. بيد أنه في ظل النظام الحالي، كثيرا ما يسجن المدين في وقت واحد إذا قدمت شكوى ضده
  • ولا يجوز أن يكون السجن الذي يستند إلى قرار الضابط وحده، الذي يحدد فيه كإجراء قسري من الإجراء التأديبي، دائما منصفا أو معقولا. المحسوبية، ودفع كريهة، سوء الحكم الخ يمكن أيضا أن تلعب دورها.
  • وإذا كان المدين فوق سن الخامسة والستين أو كان الوصي الوحيد على الأطفال دون سن الخامسة عشرة أو إذا كان يرتب ضامنا أو ضمانة فلا يجوز إيداعه في السجن بصرف النظر عما إذا كان قادرا على سداد الدين أو ليس. على عكس أي خطأ مدني أو جنائي آخر، يتم التعامل مع الشيخوخة هنا كمعايير للعقاب. ولكن الدراسات الحديثة وجدت أن التغيير في التكوين العمري للقوى العاملة هو ظاهرة عالمية وعدد رجال الأعمال أو الطبقة العاملة من 65 سنة وما فوق هو حوالي ضعف تلك من 40 إلى 49 سنة.

وختاما، أود أن أقترح أن هذا النوع من الترتيبات ينطوي على العديد من العقبات التي تعلق عليها عدم العقلانية. ولكل نظام مزاياه وعيوبه الخاصة، وينبغي أن يكون الاختيار بينهما عملي (ما الذي يعمل؟) بدلا من الأيديولوجية. وعندما يتخذ رئيس دائرة الخبراء قرارا بالسجن، بناء على طلب الدائن، تكون سلطة البت في الموضوع منوطة بشخص واحد دون أن تكون له إجراءات قضائية أو إجراءات قضائية. ويمكن أن يكون هذا النظام أكثر دقة إذا تم تسوية المسألة من خلال محكمة القانون بدلا من إدارة التنفيذ، حيث سيتم إعطاء ذخيرة أوسع استنادا إلى الوقائع والأدلة والظروف في القضية. والحكم القائم على تقديم / حصيلة الأدلة سيكون من الحكمة بدلا من تركه مفتوحا أمام ضابط. في عالم الشركات المضطرب من المهم أن نتوقع، ونعترف، وفهم الوضع القانوني مسبقا؛ ومن ثم فإنني أوصي بأن يكون التدخل القضائي إلزاميا.

Under Kuwaiti law non payment of debt is not a crime and hence there is no prescribed mode of punishment under the Kuwaiti code. However, this does not mean that the debtor would be set free of all his liabilities towards the creditor. If the creditor chooses to pursue the matter he can seek extra judicial assistance and can imprison the debtor for a term not exceeding six months. But how a person interprets the procedure and applies it to his own situation would give it value because the court of law has relatively no role in this matter.

The procedure

The creditor should submit a written submission before the Expert department and if the head of the expert department decides to grant the plea the debtor would be imprisoned. The maximum term of imprisonment is six months. However, the term shall be determined based on the discretion of the officer and normally a period of one month imprisonment would only be awarded. If the debt is not paid fully during this initial term the debtor can be jailed any number of times until the period of six months is elapsed; unless he proves that he is financially incapable of repaying debt. On the other hand, irrespective of the completion of his term (6 months) in the prison the debtor would be asked to pay the debt without any deductions as he is sentenced to prison as an outcome of a less punitive and more due process oriented measure.

The shortfall of the system

Good regulatory practice necessitates the intervention of the court where the procedures would revolve around formal but precise rules.  Voluntary compliance, which is less wed to rules, stressing responsiveness and forbearance and preferring tools involving self-regulation, persuasion and negotiation may not always be effective in an issue like debt collection.

However, under the present system the rights of both the debtor and the creditor are limited by certain restrictions, which are mentioned hereunder;

  • The provision which is based on rule of natural justice forbids imprisonment if the debtor is not in a position to repay his debt The burden of proof is vested on the creditor who should prove that the debtor is financially sound or is willfully neglecting the repayment. In actual practice, imprisonment is more or less used as a test to confirm whether the debtor is financially sound or not.
  • The debtor should be offered an unvarying system where he can enforce his rights, as well. The debtor should be given the right to be heard and the right to present his perspectives fully and completely before a competent judge. For instance, if the non payment is due to the reason that the debtor’s assets or money is confiscated or blocked for a certain period of time he should be given a chance to repay it on an extended date. However, under the present system, more often, the debtor would at once be imprisoned if a complaint is lodged against him
  • The imprisonment based solely on the decision of an officer, where it is set as a coercive measure than a disciplinary measure may not be always fair or reasonable. Favoritism, foul pay, misjudgment etc can also play its role.
  • If the debtor is above the age of sixty five years or if he is the single guardian of children below the age of 15 or if he arranges a guarantor/guarantee he cannot be put in prison irrespective of whether he is capable of paying the debt or not. Unlike any other civil or criminal wrong, here old age is treated as criteria for punishment. But recent studies find that a change in the age composition of the workforce is a global phenomena and the number of business people or working class of 65 years and older is about twice that of those 40 to 49 years old.

To conclude, I would suggest that, this sort of arrangement has many hitches as the notch of irrationality is attached to it. Each system has its own distinct advantages and disadvantages, and the choice between them should be pragmatic (what works?) rather than ideological. When the decision is made by the head of the expert department to imprison a person, based on the request of the creditor, the authority to decide on the subject is vested on a single person, with no judicial process or procedure. This system could be more finely tailored if the issue is settled through the court of law rather than the execution department, where it would be given a broader repertoire based on facts, evidences and circumstances of a case. The judgment based on submission/tallying of evidences would rather be prudent than leaving it open before an officer. In the turbulent corporate world it is important to anticipate, recognize, and understand the legal situation beforehand; hence I recommend that judicial intervention is mandatory.